Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

York to lead side on Championship return

Chris York will captain Ealing Trailfinders as they make their return to the Greene King IPA Championship, away to Rotherham Titans on Sunday.

Number 8 York is one of 10 new faces that Director of Coaching Ben Ward has named in his team for the match that will kick off at Phoenix Park at 2pm. The former Newcastle Falcons man will be joined in the backrow by fellow new face Iain Grieve and last season’s Players’ Player of the Year, Arthur Ellis. 

Further forward in the pack the Jones twins, Carwyn and Llewelyn make up the second row, while their fellow Celt Alun Walker packs down at hooker between another two summer arrivals, George Porter and Michael Holford. 

Alex Davies and Tristan Roberts will form a new-look half-back combination following their arrival from London Welsh in the summer and there is a similar new feel in the three-quarters. Danny Barnes and Joe Munro will start in the centres, with Rhys Crane and James Stephenson outside them on the wings. 

At fullback Will Harries will aim to pick up where he left off last season, in which he scored eight tries in National 1. 

Ealing Trailfinders v Rotherham Titans, Sunday 6 September, 2pm
15 Will Harries 14 Rhys Crane 13 Danny Barnes 12 Joe Munro 11 James Stephenson 10 Tristan Roberts 9 Alex Davies; 1 George Porter 2 Alun Walker 3 Michael Holford 4 Carwyn Jones 5 Llewelyn Jones 6 Iain Grieve 7 Arthur Ellis 8 Chris York (captain)
16 Sam Rodman 17 Matt Thompson 18 Nathan Buck 19 Adam Preocanin 20 Harrison Orr 21 Tom Bliss 22 Toby Howley-Berridge