Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Townson back for Scarlets cup quarter

Glen Townson returns to the team for the visit of the Scarlets Premiership Select XV in the British and Irish Cup quarterfinals, at Vallis Way on Saturday.

The second row has been out of action since January when the team travelled to Scarborough RFC to take on Yorkshire Carnegie in their final pool match, which guaranteed them top spot in the pool. 

Townson comes into the team for Barney Maddison, who is cup-tied having played in the competition for London Welsh earlier in the season. Maddison is one of three ex-Welsh players who are cup-tied along with Kieran Murphy and Miles Mantella. 

The Morecambe-native will pair up in the second row with Llewelyn Jones in the second row, someone well known to the Scarlets having been part of their set-up before his move to west London in 2014. 

In front of them Will Davis, Alun Walker and Lewis Thiede will pack down in the front row for a sixth week in succession. 

There is one change in the back row, where Arthur Ellis comes in as openside flanker and where Rayn Smid moves across to replace Murphy. Between them both is captain and number 8 Mark Bright. 

In the backs Curtis Wilson replaces Mantella in the number 14 jersey, but otherwise it is the same backline that started the 51-12 win over Rotherham Titans in the Greene King IPA Championship a week ago. 

It means a second appearance for deadline day signing Rory Clegg at fly-half, alongside scrum-half Luke Carter. 

Joe Munro and Aled Jenkins team up in the centres for a sixth time in the last seven matches. James Cordy-Redden completes the three-quarter line on the opposite wing from Wilson and three-time capped Wales international Will Harries begins at fullback. 

Ealing Trailfinders v Scarlets Prem Select, Vallis Way, Saturday 11 March, 2pm
1 Will Davis
2 Alun Walker
3 Lewis Thiede
4 Llewelyn Jones
5 Glen Townson
6 Rayn Smid
7 Arthur Ellis
8 Mark Bright (captain)
9 Luke Carter
10 Rory Clegg
11 James Cordy Redden
12 Joe Munro
13 Aled Jenkins
14 Curtis Wilson 
15 Will Harries
16 Matt Cornish
17 James Gibbons
18 Alex Penny
19 Harry Casson
20 Willie Ryan
21 Josh Davies
22 Lewis Jones