Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

No changes for Bedford Blues clash

Ealing Trailfinders have retained the same starting team that defeated Moseley a week ago for their visit to high-flying Bedford Blues on Saturday.

Bedford have been in scintillating form this season, playing exciting rugby under the guidance of Director of Rugby Mike Rayer and currently sit in fourth position en route to the promotion play-offs. 

Ben Ward’s team ran in seven tries in their 55-15 win that lifted them off the bottom of the Greene King IPA Championship table and the same 15 will start at Goldington Road. 

It means that Rhys Lawrence (pictured) will again captain the team from hooker, between props Will Davis and Alex Penny. He is one four Welsh players in the side who celebrated St David’s day on Tuesday. 

Twins Carwyn and Llewelyn Jones are two others who hail from across the Severn; Carwyn will pack down alongside Adam Preocanin in the second row, while Llewelyn forms a back-row trio with Arthur Ellis and number eight Chris York. 

Former Wales sevens international Alex Walker begins at scrum-half, alongside Director of Coaching Ward, with Toby Howley-Berridge and Danny Barnes the centre combination. 

Wings Rhys Crane and Phil Chesters both ended on the scoresheet for a third match in a row, with Crane scoring four in a match for the first time in his career. Fullback Luke Daniels scored two conversions against Moseley, which was his first appearance since he faced Yorkshire Carnegie on 2 January. 

Ealing Trailfinders v Bedford Blues, Saturday 5 March, 3pm, Goldington Road
1 Will Davis
2 Rhys Lawrence (captain)
3 Alex Penny
4 Carwyn Jones
5 Adam Preocanin
6 Llewelyn Jones
7 Arthur Ellis
8 Chris York
9 Alex Walker
10 Ben Ward
11 Phil Chesters
12 Toby Howley-Berridge
13 Danny Barnes
14 Rhys Crane
15 Luke Daniels
16 Karl Gibson
17 Sam Rodman
18 Iain Grieve
19 Danny Kenny
20 Callum Wilson
21 Alex Davies
22 Jonny Bentley