Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Love and Chesters back for Moseley trip

James Love and Phil Chesters return to the starting line-up for Ealing Trailfinders’ final pre-season match away to Moseley on Saturday, having missed the home match against Bedford Blues.

Ben Ward’s side has already enjoyed home wins over Newport and Bedford Blues and the final test is against a side that won both the Greene King IPA Championship and British and Irish Cup matches at Billesley Common last season.

Love slots in at fullback, while Chesters takes up his usual position on the left wing. Chris Kinloch starts on the right wing aiming to add to the two tries he has already scored in pre-season, while Tom Wheatcroft and Sam Wardingley form the centre pairing.

“It is the last opportunity for guys to impress and get game time under their belt before the first league game, ” Director of Rugby Ben Ward said.

“What’s been great so far is that no matter how many changes we have made during the week or during the game the guys have all responded and performed well. This will stand us in good stead for a long season allowing us to keep guys fresh.

“Moseley had a fantastic season last year and beat us three times in total so we know how tough a challenge we have in front of us. We have to improve on last week’s performance and strive for the perfect game.”

Tom Brown will again captain the side from number 8 and is flanked by Arthur Ellis and Danny Kenny; behind them Alex Walker and Matt Jarvis from an all-Welsh halfback combination.

Scotland ‘A’ international Alun Walker begins at hooker, between props Kevin Davis and Nathan Buck, while Michael Walker-Fitton and Paul Spivey start in the engine room.

Ealing Trailfinders v Moseley, Billesley Common, 15.00

1 Kevin Davis

2 Alun Walker

3 Nathan Buck

4 Mike Walker Fitton

5 Paul Spivey

6 Danny Kenny

7 Arthur Ellis

8 Tom Brown (captain)

9 Alex Walker

10 Matt Jarvis

11 Phil Chesters

12 Tom Wheatcroft

13 Sam Wardingley

14 Chris Kinloch

15 James Love


16 Will Davis

17 Andrei Radoi

18 Ignas Darkintis

19 Gary Johnson

20 Carwyn Jones

21 Llewelyn Jones

22 Alex Bradley

23 Morgan Thompson

24 Ben Ward

25 Andy Reay

26 George Eastwell

27 James Copsey