Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

First hall of famers inducted at awards evening

Over 160 Ealing Trailfinders players, supporters and family members gathered together after the Coventry match for the inaugural 1st XV Awards Evening and the chance to look back on what has been a highly successful season on and off the pitch so far.

Highlight of the evening came with the presentation of club blazers to the first four inductees into the Ealing Trailfinders Hall of Fame. Director of coaching Ben Ward presented the blazers to current forward’s coach and former 1st XV prop forward Kieran Power, former team captain Mat Evans and two current players who have made over 200 appearances for the 1st XV, Owen Bruynseels and Steve Neville. 

Ward also announced that Bruynseels will take over as team manager for the 2015-16 season. Long-time team manger Matt Smith will step down from the role at the current season’s end and he received a framed and signed 1st XV shirt and a STORM Watch as a mark of his efforts over the years. 

“It was a great event and I felt it was important that we had the chance to honour four players who have served the club with distinction for a number of year, ” Ward said. “The guys who won the blazers are an example to everyone who plays for the club as to what can be achieved with dedication to the club on and off the field.

“Matt has worked hard for the club and became part of the team over the years and he will be a hard act for Owen to follow, but I am confident he will fill the role with equal aplomb.”

Aside from the blazers there were a total of six awards on offer for the current 1st XV players. 

Flanker Arthur Ellis capped a fine first season at the club in which he has already scored 23 tries by claiming the Player’s Player of the Year and the Coaches’ Player of the Year. 

His fellow new boy Alex Walker won Supporters’ Player of the Year and Man of Steel, Chris Kinloch received the first-ever Mat Evans’ Award for Services to the Club and Sam Wardingley claimed the Skillsman of the Year Award.