Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Crane back to face Cornish Pirates

Wing Rhys Crane makes a welcome return from injury after being named in the Ealing Trailfinders team to take on Cornish Pirates in the Greene King IPA Championship at the Mennaye Field on Sunday.

Crane will start his first match since the Championship fixture away to Moseley on 16 October. He lines up on the left wing with James Stephenson, who has scored three tries in the last four matches, on the right. 

James Love meanwhile will slot in behind them at fullback having come off the bench a week ago against Moseley in the British and Irish Cup. 

Joe Munro and Danny Barnes will again line up in the centres, while Tristan Roberts returns at fly-half and links up with scrum-half Alex Walker. 

In the pack Iain Grieve has been handed a start after playing 30 minutes off the bench against Moseley and he will form a back-row with number eight Chris York and flanker Alex Bradley, who scored twice against Moseley. 

Further forward Adam Preocanin and Llewelyn Jones will pack down in the engine room, while captain Rhys Lawrence starts at hooker, between props Will Davis and Michael Holford. 

Elsewhere in the Ealing Trailfinders squad Luke Daniels and Tom Wheatcroft are not far from a return to action, but Matt Thompson and Nathan Hannay remain on the side-lines for the foreseeable future.

Fullback Will Harries underwent an operation on a torn Achilles tendon on Thursday and will be out for the rest of the season. 

Jonny Bentley and Callum Wilson are unavailable this week after picking up slight knocks, but should be back in contention for the home match against Doncaster Knights on Saturday 6 February.  

Ealing Trailfinders v Cornish Pirates, Mennaye Field, Sunday 31 January, 3pm
1 Will Davis
2 Rhys Lawrence (captain)
3 Michael Holford
4 Llewelyn Jones
5 Adam Preocanin
6 Iain Grieve
7 Alex Bradley
8 Chris York
9 Alex Walker
10 Tristan Roberts
11 Rhys Crane
12 Joe Munro
13 Danny Barnes
14 James Stephenson
15 James Love
16 Jamie Kilbane
17 Alun Walker
18 Alex Penny
19 Carwyn Jones
20 Harrison Orr
21 Alex Davies
22 Toby Howley-Berridge