Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Coventry 28-23 Ealing Trailfinders

Ealing Trailfinders were unable to wrap up pre-season with an unbeaten record, after they faced a determined and fired-up Coventry side at their Butt’s Park Arena.

Harrison Orr and James Stephenson ran in tries for Ben Ward’s side and Alex Davies weighed in with three penalties and a conversion but it wasn’t enough against a Coventry side who scored three tries of their own. 

The match started in a fierce manner with neither team holding back in their attempts to gain the upper hand. The score was tied up at six apiece by the 20 minute mark through two penalties apiece for Davies and Coventry’s one-time Welsh international fly-half Matt Jones. 

Not long after Ealing Trailfinders scored the first try of the day when Orr finished off a line-break for a try that Davies converted. 

Coventry didn’t take long to draw level though when they broke off the back of the scrum to set up a move the flanker George Oliver finished off. 

Jones added the conversion and while another Davies penalty put the visitors back in front, Dominic Lespierre used his pace to break away and score in the corner just before halftime to give the hosts a 20-16 lead at the break.

Five minutes into the second half Coventry stretched their lead further when number 8 Tom Preece was driven over in the corner from a catch and drive off a lineout. Jones missed the conversion, but he landed another penalty soon after to give the hosts a 12-point advantage as the match moved into the latter stages. 

With just over 10 minutes remaining James Stephenson came off the bench to use his pace to score his first try for Ealing Trailfinders and while Tristan Roberts knocked over the conversion to set up a tense finale, the hosts defence held firm. 

Cliffie Hodgson, Dom Lespierre, James Tincknell, Sam Smith, Ryan Hough, Matt Jones, Wayne Evans (captain); Andy Brown, Matt Price, Adam Parkins, Courtney Roberts, Tom Poole, Sam Pailor, George Oliver, Tom Preece
Rikki Stout, Devlin Hope, Terry Sigley, Chad Thorne, Danny Wright, Alex Woodburn, Joe Carpenter, Loti Molitika, Harrison L-Everton, Caolan Ryan, Adam Canning, Callum MacBurnie, Scott Hamilton

Ealing Trailfinders
James Love, Chris Kinloch, Toby Berridge, Tom Wheatcroft, Callum Wilson, Alex Davies, Tom Bliss; Sam Rodman, Matt Thompson, Michael Holford, Nathan Hannay, Llewelyn Jones, Harrison Orr, Alex Bradley, Danny Kenny (captain)
George Porter, Alun Walker, Nathan Buck, Alex Penny, Carwyn Jones, Adam Preocanin, Arthur Ellis, Chris York, Alex Walker, Tristan Roberts, Joe Munro,  

Danny Barnes, James Stephenson, Rhys Crane, Will Harries