Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Carter leads Ealing Trailfinders quintet back to Titans

Luke Carter is one of five ex-Rotherham Titans players in the Ealing Trailfinders squad for the Greene King IPA Championship at Clifton Lane on Saturday.

New signing Rory Clegg will also make his Ealing Trailfinders debut having signed for the club on a long-term deal from Glasgow Warriors on deadline day. 

Carter moved south in the summer of 2016, along with Lewis Thiede, Curtis Wilson and Willie Ryan. Barney Maddison completes the quintet having joined Ealing Trailfinders from London Welsh in December. 

Scrum-half Carter, prop Thiede and second row Maddison start, while Wilson and Ryan begin on the bench. 

Carter will link-up with Clegg in a new-look half-back pairing. Outside them it is an unchanged three-quarter line from the last three matches. 

Joe Munro and Aled Jenkins will pair up in the centres, with wings James Cordy-Redden and Miles Mantella aiming to add to the five tries they’ve plundered between them over the last three matches.

Behind them Will Harries returns at fullback for the first time since the home match against London Irish. 

Thiede and Maddison pack down in their familiar positions in the tight-five, which is unchanged for a fifth week in succession. Thiede and Will Davis will prop down either side of hooker Alun Walker, while Maddison teams up with Llewelyn Jones in the engine room. 

Mark Bright will captain the side from number eight, alongside flanker Rayn Smid and Kieran Murphy in the back row. 

Ealing Trailfinders v Rotherham Titans, Clifton Lane, 2pm, Saturday 4 March
1 Will Davis
2 Alun Walker
3 Lewis Thiede
4 Llewelyn Jones
5 Barney Maddison
6 Kieran Murphy
7 Rayn Smid
8 Mark Bright (captain)
9 Luke Carter
10 Rory Clegg
11 James Cordy Redden
12 Joe Munro
13 Aled Jenkins
14 Miles Mantella
15 Will Harries
16 Rhys Lawrence
17 James Gibbons
18 Sam Rodman
19 Harry Casson
20 Willie Ryan
21 Josh Davies
22 Curtis Wilson