Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club Ealing Trailfinders Rugby Club

Jones and Munro in tandem for Yorkshire Carnegie semi

Lewis Jones will complete a remarkable year on Friday evening when he runs out for the Greene King IPA Championship play-off semifinal against Yorkshire Carnegie at Vallis Way, having been a student at Leeds Beckett University a year ago.

The 22-year-old has played 22 times and scored four tries for Ben Ward’s side since he joined before pre-season. He will start in the number 13 shirt for the sixth week in a row, alongside fellow centre Joe Munro for the seventh time this season. 

Mark Bright is back to captain the side after he sat out the most recent match between the two sides, at Headingley Carnegie Stadium on Easter Saturday. 

He will pack down in his familiar number 8 position for the 24th time this season and is joined in the back row by Rayn Smid and Kieran Murphy.

In the second row Glen Townson has experience of the Championship play-offs for Bristol and he led the side in Bright’s absence in Yorkshire. The Lancastrian will team up with Barney Maddison in the second row for the third match in a row. 

Yorkshire-native Lewis Thiede will anchor the pack at tight-head prop, alongside loose-head James Gibbons and hooker Alun Walker, who dons the number two jersey for the 18th match in succession. 

Scrum-half Luke Carter and fly-half Rory Clegg pair up for the sixth time since Clegg’s arrival in February. Outside them the club’s all-time leading try-scorer Phil Chesters, and Curtis Wilson start on the wings. The latter will aim to add to the 10 tries he’s scored this season. 

At fullback Will Harries provides the last line of defence and first line of attack.

Ealing Trailfinders v Yorkshire Carnegie, Play-Off Semifinals, Vallis Way, 28 April, 7.45pm
1 James Gibbons
2 Alun Walker
3 Lewis Thiede
4 Barney Maddison
5 Glen Townson 
6 Kieran Murphy
7 Rayn Smid
8 Mark Bright (captain)
9 Luke Carter
10 Rory Clegg
11 Phil Chesters
12 Joe Munro
13 Lewis Jones
14 Curtis Wilson
15 Will Harries
16 Matt Cornish
17 Will Davis
18 Alex Penny
19 Llewelyn Jones
20 Arthur Ellis
21 Alex Walker
22 Aaron Penberthy